A belated Workout Wednesday and a new personal challenge

Here is Workout Wednesday (on a Thursday)! Oops. It’s a busy time of year for those of us who work in higher ed, so things are a little bit delayed (just like traffic around campus).

Can you believe there are less than 65 days to Marine Corps Marathon?! They just released a new course map this week…eek! Sometimes it feels so close and other times it still feels really far away. As I may have mentioned before, I am following Hal Higdon’s Intermediate 1 marathon training plan which basically has two weeks of higher mileage followed by a week of lower mileage (for recovery). This week has been a lower mileage week and it honestly doesn’t feel like I’m training for a marathon right now. The plan only called for runs of 4, 5, and 4 miles during the week, and this weekend will have a 7m pace run followed by an 11-miler the next day. Once upon a time 11 miles felt SO LONG, but now seeing that as a long run distance is a relief! SeptemberΒ  (and the first week of October) will be the toughest month of training with long runs of 17, 18, and 20 miles (and weekday runs of 8 miles!), but the months go by SO fast these days, so I know training will be over in the blink of an eye. It’s crazy to think that at the end of August I will be halfway done with marathon training!

In order to better prepare for MCM, I am embarking on the Advocare 24-day Challenge, hosted by my good friends Lauren and Samantha! Some people use it to lose weight (though it is not a fad diet – or even a diet at all!), but I am using it to get back on track with healthy eating. I have been way too overly indulgent since my birthday and am looking forward to starting over. I have actually done the challenge before and found it beneficial, though I never followed through with all 24 days. I always got lazy about halfway into the last two week segment, but since this a group challenge, I know I’ll be held accountable this time. Even though the Challenge bundle includes a ton of stuff, all you really need to start the Challenge is the 10-day cleanse and the MNS vitamins (though Spark & Meal Replacement shakes are delicious!).

The Challenge starts with a gentle herbal 10-day cleanse followed by 2 weeks of taking specific, natural vitamins. There is no fasting and no deprivation involved, and all of the Advocare practices are backed by science! The only thing you need to do in addition to taking the vitamins is to EAT CLEAN. The cleanse portion is more strict on requiring you to eat clean 100% of the time, but once you get past those 10 days, you have more flexibility and can splurge more (as long as you are still eating clean 90% of the time)…and really, shouldn’t a huge goal of all of us be to eat clean anyway? It is so much better for you! I am working so hard to train for this marathon that I feel I would be doing a disservice to my body by filling it with junk, so I’m counting on these 24 days to re-set both my body and my mentality. I know that once I start fueling my body with better foods on a more consistent basis, improvements in my running will come, too! In fact, there have been some athletes (Drew Brees!) who have approached Advocare directly because they wanted to endorse the company…FOR FREE.

For any questions you may have on Advocare products, feel free to contact me, or just follow along on the journey. I can’t promise that I will update extensively about the 24-day Challenge, but I will try to incorporate it into MCM training posts somehow!

1 Comment

Filed under Advocare, Fisher House, Fitness, Marine Corps Marathon, Running, Team Fisher House

One response to “A belated Workout Wednesday and a new personal challenge

  1. Great reason to do the challenge again! Can’t wait to all be in this together!! The group is over 20 people so far…should be really fun and encouraging!!

Leave a Reply

