Vacation recap {7/23/13 – 7/31/13}

We spent a week in Buffalo at the end of July visiting family and were busy, busy, busy. The weather was gorgeous, and a nice reprieve from the terrible DC heat and humidity we’d been dealing with. It made me remember how amazing summers in Buffalo and Montana are – not too hot, not too humid, just right! Usually at the end of trips, I am ready to return to Virginia, but this trip made me wish we lived closer to family. Audrey & Caroline (and Brian & I!) had such a nice time visiting, but we still didn’t have time to see everyone! I wish the visits could happen more often, especially for the girls’ sakes.

We flew into Buffalo on a Tuesday, and right away Brian and I were happy we had the sense to fly, not drive. Even flying with our two crazy girls was stressful! They just cannot avoid arguing with each other…Caroline, in true younger sister fashion, always wants what Audrey has. Audrey, in true older sister fashion, never wants to share!

I can’t even remember everything we did, but here are some Cliffs notes:

We went to the zoo!

We went to the Aquarium!

Buffalo11

We ate at some of our favorite places, and even had a tea party!

We went to Hidden Valley Animal Farm and fed lots of animals! Caroline wasn’t so sure about this, but the zebra warmed her up to the idea. She also tried to pick up animal turds while we were there, and when I yelled “no!” she startled herself and ended up face-planting in the poo. Then, as I’m hurriedly trying to wipe off what I could with wipes, she starts crying and all of the animals surround her, which makes her start crying even more – this time they were mad “get away from me, animals!” cries. So funny in retrospect, but not so funny in the moment…

Last but not least, we drove a Mustang!

Buffalo12

We also got to spend time with our family members, and like I said before, it made us wish we were closer and could see everyone on a more regular basis. We had a great time with our cousins, siblings, aunts, uncles, parents, etc. Audrey started asking everyone if they could come to her birthday party, and it’s sad to have to explain to her why they can’t! I want them to be able to have close relationships with everyone, but distance will always be an obstacle. Oh well, this is military life, I suppose. At least we get to go home to an amazing place like DC now instead of flat, brown Great Falls, MT 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Celebrations, Family, Washington DC

One response to “Vacation recap {7/23/13 – 7/31/13}

  1. Looks like you had a great trip! That poo story is hilarious (although I probably wouldn’t have been laughing at the time). I can’t believe how big the girls are getting!

Leave a Reply

