Potomac River Running’s Birthday Bash 5k {7/14/13}

Well, I have a lot of mixed feelings on this race. I am disappointed and encouraged by this all at the same time. This will probably be a brief recap because I don’t want to beat myself up over it anymore.

The good news is that Danny & I ran the first mile (plus some) at 7:08 min/mile pace (including up a hill!). Um, insane (for us). The bad news is that this pace was waaaaay too fast for both of us, and I just fell apart afterwards. Danny held it together, though, and finished strongly! We ended up splitting because I knew he wanted to PR (and he did) and that I’d just slow him down today.

I am frustrated because after that first mile, I was just not happy with the performance. I didn’t PR, which is fine, but I’m just kicking myself over the last 2 miles. Time was 26:27, which is 45 seconds slower than my PR. I mean, given the ridiculous humidity & fact that I stopped in the middle of the race (I’ve never doneย that in a 5k before!), I guess it’s encouraging that I was only 45 seconds off and not more.

Despite all of that, I finished 6th in my age group, and 48th out of all women (300). It’s so bittersweet! Of course, all of the “what ifs” keep running through my head, too. What if I’d started slower? What if I hadn’t stopped? Even, what if I had brought my music and could drown out my negative thoughts? It’s especially bittersweet because I think I would have had a decent shot at 3rd place had I run smarter! Unfortunately, the fastest DC-area women seem to be in the 25-40 age range, so I am screwed, ha. I really need to work on my short distance mentality; shorter distances are way out of my comfort range these days because my last 5k was in February. It’s so hard for me to switch from “pace yourself!” to “oh who cares, it’s only 3 miles, just OMG GO!”

Anyway, like I said, it was encouraging and disappointing all at once. I feel AWESOME that I did my fastest mile everrrrr, and it almost makes me want to do more speed work ( ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), but on the other hand, I am sad that I fell apart after. I know a lot of it was mental, so I need to work on that.

On the non-competitive running side, there was a kids’ fun run with this race, and the girls loved it! Audrey was so psyched for this and she really gets into this stuff. She kept asking if she was going to chase the Gingerbread Man again (like she did at PRR’s Gingerbread Man Mile in November). There was also ice cream, cupcakes, sliders, sno-cones, a band, and a dunk tank, all at 9am! I’m glad today was focused so much on fun post-race activities. ย It was especially fun because I had three friends running with me (and they all did great!), so it was a mini-party on a Sunday morning!

And in order to redeem myself, I’ve already signed up for two more 5ks the week that we are in Buffalo (and on the same day as each other)…masochistic right here!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Races, Running

4 responses to “Potomac River Running’s Birthday Bash 5k {7/14/13}

  1. Cheryl

    When will you be in Buffalo?!!!! I hope we can get together! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’m sorry you are disappointed in your performance, but I think it is sooo awesome!! I loved the pictures, and I can’t wait to hear your results while you are in NY. The girls are soooooo cute in these pictures.

  3. Pingback: Training while on vacation (and 2 5K recaps) | Our Busy Bees

Leave a Reply

