Let the training begin!

Today marks the end of my first official week of training for Marine Corps Marathon. Originally I had intended on doing a 16-week program until I realized that the longest run in that program was 16 miles, which was too short for my liking – I need to get into the 20s to feel mentally prepared. Then I decided to do Hal Higdon’s intermediate marathon training which is 18 weeks long. Unfortunately, I forgot to update the start date on my calendar, but fortunately, my weekly mileage was right on par with the training so I was able to just pick it up just like I had remembered all along that I needed to start this week! I can’t decide between Intermediate 1 or Intermediate 2, so I just sort of plan on playing it by ear with Intermediate 1 being the least I do. The mileage in the first three or so weeks for Intermediate 1 is less than what I’ve been doing on a non-training running week, but some of the Intermediate 2 mileage intimidates me!

Today was my first long run of training, and was supposed to be 8 miles. I thought it would be an easy run because my typical weekend long runs have been 10 miles and I have done a decent job of keeping up my post-insane-April-racing mileage. I was totally wrong! Even though I woke up early this morning to beat the heat, it was still 80 degrees when I went out and humidity was at 90% (at 6am!). It was terrible, and I was soaked in the first mile. At the end of the run (which ended up being 8.5), I had to wring out my clothes (ew), and my new shoes were squishing. I invested in Lululemon’s Runbeam short sleeved shirt with the idea that it would offer good sun protection during long runs (it is made out of swimsuit material!), and even that didn’t stay very dry today. I really miss winter training. It’s hard to feel like you are getting better when the heat makes you feel so terrible! I did run into a little turtle during the run; at least I wasn’t alone this morning!

As I just mentioned, I am starting off training with a brand new pair of shoes! I am now sporting the Brooks Adrenaline GTS 13. At my last fitting at Pacers in March, I couldn’t decide between the Asics GT 2000 and the Adrenaline GTS 13. It literally took me forever to decide; I was running around the store like a crazy person to see which I liked best! Eventually I opted for the Asics because of the pretty purple color, and while I haven’t had any major issues with them, I decided to give the Brooks a try this time around. So far, so good!

In other news, I upped my Fisher House fundraising goal because I am so close to making it to $500 and the race is still a few months away. New goal is $750! Help me support military families 🙂

I’m also considering the Charles St 12, which is a 12-miler in August in Baltimore. It sounds like it could be fun, and the course elevation map is almost all downhill. Nothing motivates me more than downhill running, ha!

3 Comments

Filed under Fisher House, Fitness, Marine Corps Marathon, Races, Running, Team Fisher House

3 responses to “Let the training begin!

  1. Ugh running in the heat….SO TOUGH! You are doing great though and I can’t wait to read more about your training (and your new shoes and socks!). Keep up the great work…wow, a marathon!! Can you believe it?!

    • No! Especially on days like yesterday. At the end of the run, I was like, “I CANNOT do this for 20 mile long runs!” And I had to remind myself that not every day will be that humid, and that even though it doesn’t seem like I am improving, once the weather cools down, hopefully I will see the hard work paying off pace-wise. I feel like for now, it’s probably just more important to finish out the runs (and stay alive!), not necessarily be the fastest ever. Maybe I am just telling myself that to feel better 😉

  2. I can’t believe one of the programs only goes up to 16 miles to prep for a marathon! That doesn’t seem like enough preparation at all!!! Your new shoes are really cute, sorry it was such a gross run! We are supposed to be getting a cool spell this week – I hope it passes your way!

Leave a Reply

