Week/weekend recap {Mother’s Day, Running, Adventures}

There is nothing quite like having a beautiful weekend to celebrate and relax! As I mentioned in the last post, free time is not something we get a lot of these days, so we really cherish the weekends with zero (or close to zero) major plans. And after last week at work,I feel like I really earned this weekend! Things have been crazy around here for a ton of reasons, including (but not limited to) the new construction going on in my particular office area and general end-of-the-semester craziness. Without getting into too much detail, I left work pretty frazzled almost every day last week.

On Saturday, B & I divided & conquered, with him taking Audrey to her gymnastics class and a friend’s birthday party and me taking Caroline to a girls’ brunch and grocery shopping. It was so nice getting to spend time with Caroline one-on-one since most of my one-on-one child time is with Audrey (since she and I go to work/school together). I rarely get that Caroline time these days, and she is really starting to turn into her own little person, so I loved every minute of it (and so did she!). She never gets to hang out with our friends while not in big sister’s shadow, so I think it was something she enjoyed, too. Also, she fell in love with grits this weekend!

Our Mother’s Day was spent relaxing & spending time together. We went to brunch at the Ft Belvoir Officers’ Club, which has a beautiful view of the Potomac River. Audrey and Caroline adored this meal, especially because there was a plethora of dessert options. Caroline now gets really annoyed if she can’t feed herself, so it’s a good thing there was a really thick, almost spill-proof mousse there because she was not letting me feed it to her. We capped it off with lots of playing outside, Audrey running through the sprinkler, Caroline trying it once and then deciding that, “no thank you, this is definitely not for me!”  I don’t know, there isn’t really too much to summarize, but it was such a great weekend. Audrey gifted me with a homemade coaster and a potted plant in a pot that she decorated, and Caroline & Brian brought flowers home on Friday. All in all, it was a simple & sweet day with my girls, and that is all I wanted!

On the running front, since I am no longer in race/taper mode, I have been able to get back into more of a groove. This has helped my sanity immensely! I got in 30 miles this week, including yesterday’s 10.5 mile long run (hey, I had to earn my brunch!) My pace has been pretty decent, too, with Friday’s 5.5 mile run at an 8:12 min/mile, and yesterday’s 10.5 mile at an 8:27 min/mile. Instead of reaching for the Gu gel this time around, I had Jelly Belly Sports Beans during my long run instead. I definitely prefer these to Gu so far!

2 Comments

Filed under Celebrations, Fitness, Running

2 responses to “Week/weekend recap {Mother’s Day, Running, Adventures}

  1. Beautiful photos of you and the girls! Glad you had a great Mother’s Day! And way to kick some running butt….your times are SO good!!

Leave a Reply

