Workout Wednesday…

Well, Workout Wednesday is not really hardcore this week because it is TAPER WEEK for Nike Women’s Half Marathon on Sunday. Taper weeks are hard because I really just want to run/move, but need to take it easier on my body/legs, especially after Sunday’s 10-miler. It’s hard for me to limit myself to runs only in the 3-4 mile range because they just seem short to me now. This is not bragging, because when I first started running, I was thrilled to reach 3-4 miles, but now it’s just not my standard distance. And it’s also hard to consume a few extra calories and then not really work them off right away. Taper weeks always make me feel fat & lazy! Anyway, for now, the taper plan is looking like this:

Tues (yesterday): Ran 3.5 mph

Wednesday: Yoga

Thursday: Run 3-4 miles

Friday: Rest or Yoga

Saturday: Run a 2-3 mile EASY run

As far as goals for the half marathon, I am hesitant to even put them in writing because I am afraid I will jinx myself. My biggest goal (which will hopefully be SO easy to accomplish) is to do better than I did at Rock ‘n’ Roll in March. Barring anything crazy happening, this should be a piece of cake since that was not my best race. My other goal is to keep the same pace I’ve kept at my two 10-milers this month (8:40 min/mile) throughout the entire half marathon. I think this is pretty do-able, too, and I would feel great saying that I ran a half marathon at a sub-9 min/mile pace. Basically, I just want to finish, be 100% proud of myself, and know that I couldn’t have done it any better. No regrets, unlike RnR!

4 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Running

4 responses to “Workout Wednesday…

  1. Molto Vivace

    Enjoy your taper! I am doing the same race. I’m wayyy slower than you though so we probably won’t run past each other! 🙂

  2. You will do GREAT! This seems like a great first race back…based on my packet pickup experience today, it seems like it’s not going to be super competitive, just ladies out there having fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

