Why, hello 2013!

2012 was a fun year, a challenging year, a happy year, a stressful year, etc. We hit some huge milestones with the girls (Caroline turned 1, started walking/talking/doing all of those things that happen in the first year; Audrey started a new school, etc), moved into a new house, Brian finished his Master’s, & I moved into a new position at work. All in all, we can’t complain too much, especially since we are back to having a decent sleep schedule (thank you, Caroline!).

We are looking forward to 2013 being a relatively boring year with no big life events planned (though we all know how those can pop up unexpectedly). Ideally it will be a year in which we settle into and improve upon the foundations we have already built. Brian and I also realized that 2013 will be the first year since 2008 in which I get my body to myself (ie: no pregnancies, no breastfeeding, nothing for the WHOLE YEAR)! That in itself just makes me hope that it is a calm year for us.

My main goal for 2013 is simply to continue to challenge myself, especially when it comes to running, but also in other areas. I am already signed up for two 10-milers and a half marathon this spring…I am nervous & excited, but happy to have a goal to work towards. Past doing a half marathon and other races, I’m not sure what my running goal is for 2013, short of consistently working on improving. I feel like it’s too soon to even contemplate a marathon, but who knows? When I started hardcore running back in July, I never would have thought I’d be doing a half marathon eight months later so I guess a marathon isn’t entirely out of the question in 2013. I am really proud of the running goals I’ve accomplished in 2012 (ending the year running an 8:47 min/mile pace, doing a ton of races, etc.), and can’t wait to see what else I can do!

Another huge challenge will be starting up grad classes again…ahh! I am excited and nervous about that, too. When I was taking classes in Montana, I was working full-time and able to handle it just fine; however, this time I’ll be working full-time and I have two crazy babies! To say that I am a little nervous would be an understatement. In the end, though, not ever receiving a Master’s degree is not an option in my mind, and doing it in a program that interests me is ideal, so here we go!

Obviously, another goal is continued self-improvement on a variety of personal levels…being a better spouse, mother, friend, employee, etc are always something to strive for.

Cheers to 2013! May it bring all of us health & happiness!

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Fitness, Running

2 responses to “Why, hello 2013!

  1. Cheryl

    I’ve been waiting for an update! I was worried you’d decided to stop blogging! Congrats on the new position!

Leave a Reply

