Rash be gone!

Yesterday night will go down as one of those nights in my life that I will never forget. We had just returned from our trip to Buffalo for my cousin’s wedding (more on that later), and we had put the girls to bed a little earlier than normal since they didn’t really nap in the car. About 45 minutes after we left Audrey’s room, we heard her start to whine. I was cutting an apple in the kitchen so B went to go check on her. A minute later, she shuffles into the kitchen and I hear B say, “look at your child.” I look up and gasp because Audrey is SO WHITE. I thought she was sick or something because she was as pale as a ghost. When I asked what happened, I found out the truth: she had gotten into diaper cream that was on the top of her dresser and smeared it EVERYWHERE. It was all over her arms, hair, legs, bed and her Princess Baby & Abby Cadabby dolls. Once we figured out that she hadn’t ingested it, it was REALLY hard not to laugh. She looked so ridiculous!

I scrambled to get her into the shower while B stripped the bed and changed the sheets. That stuff is impossible to get out! I washed her hair and body, but it still left a greasy residue in her hair. I googled how to get it out today while I was at work, and it turns out we just needed to treat her like a little duck who was in an oil spill–lots & lots of Dawn dish soap. I really, REALLY wish we had the sense to take a picture, but I know I will never forget that image! After we sat down for the night (again), Brian said, “Well, I think it’s safe to say that Princess Baby & Abby Cadabby will never have a diaper rash in their life.” So true! I was also impressed because Audrey had spread it so evenly across herself that there weren’t any splotchy areas at all. She’ll be a pro at applying make-up someday 😉

As I mentioned before, we went to my cousin’s wedding in Buffalo this weekend and we had a great time. The wedding itself was beautiful, and the company was the same. It’s always so nice for Audrey to be able to play with other little kids in the family and I only wish it could happen more often. She had such a ball, and the cousins were all so cute together. I have lamented my lack of a healthy relationship with a sister many times in my life, but this trip also made me realize that I don’t necessarily need someone with the title of “sister” in order to have a close, sisterly relationship. I am blessed to have cousins who can also fill that role in my life!

2 Comments

Filed under Kids, Mischief

2 responses to “Rash be gone!

  1. Cheryl

    Love you, Liz!

  2. Cheryl

    P.S. I wish you had a picture of Audrey! So funny!

Leave a Reply

