Big steps!

This turned out to be a pretty big weekend in our household. I, of course, had my four wisdom teeth extracted on Friday and spent the rest of the day just relaxing (well, until the babies came home!). Healing seems to be going okay and I had very little swelling so that’s definitely lucky. I  had some moments of, um, being drugged up afterwards but Brian can tell you those stories…

Unfortunately, the night after my surgery, Brian & I hit a breaking point with Caroline’s sleep. The Sleep Lady Shuffle method worked for a little bit but she would still wake up for no reason at night and sometimes night wake-ups would last up to 2 hours. It was getting a little bit crazy, so we went back to trusty Weissbluth’s Healthy Sleep Habits method (what we used for Audrey) and let her cry it out. She wasn’t happy with us holding her, she wasn’t happy being put down, she wasn’t happy with anything & we were just driving ourselves insane. It was so hard not to scoop her up, but I kept reminding myself that “I am respecting her need for sleep.” The fact that we really did try EVERYTHING else gives me a little bit of comfort because it means that this might have been the only other option. Anyway, after her standard two hours of being awake in the middle of the night on Saturday, we decided to just let her cry. She lasted about 45 minutes and then slept until we woke her at 8:30am. We did the same thing for naps on Sunday and she settled pretty quickly. At bedtime yesterday, she was so tired that she didn’t fight when I put her down but she woke up 30 minutes later. I went in to let her know I was there & then left within a minute. She cried for 20-30 minutes and then was asleep from 7:45pm to 4:30am. She woke up at 4:30 and fussed for a few minutes and then slept until we woke her up at 6:45am. Please, please, please let this be it because our household needs more sleep! The one bad thing to her sleeping, though, was that I had been using her wake-ups to take my pain meds and since she didn’t wake up until 4:15, I woke up with no pain meds in me. EEK! However, Caroline woke up in SUCH a great mood and was laughing and chatting all the way to daycare.

In happy Caroline news, she love love loves pureed pumpkin! She gobbled it all up yesterday. That brings her solids diet to bananas and pumpkin. Variety is the spice of life, right? 😉

Audrey also had a big weekend! We put her in big girl undies yesterday and she had no accidents! She was so proud and was showing EVERYONE (yes, I mean EVERYONE) her underwear. So adorable and I really hope this is it in terms of potty training too. She had been talking up undies a lot and B & I figured that maybe this was the last push she needed to go to the bathroom in the toilet every time, so hopefully we are right! She is wearing her undies to school today, so we’ll see how it goes…

1 Comment

Filed under baby

One response to “Big steps!

  1. We’re battling sleep too. Our little guy wakes up hungry at night and can’t be consoled unless he’s had a bottle. Luckily he goes right back to sleep though. I can’t imagine him being awake for 2 hours in the middle of the night! Good luck with the new sleep methods… I hope it works!

Leave a Reply

