Updates/Playing Catch-up

There have been so many things going on lately that I haven’t been able to document them properly simply because of lack of time/energy/desire/whatever. As usual, it’s been a busy few weeks (such is life with a toddler and two working parents, I think) with little time to sit down…and when I do finally sit down these days, it’s nearly impossible for me to get back up!

We celebrated our beloved Bee’s 2nd birthday two weekends ago with a puppy-themed dessert party. We had two of her little friends from school come by and then a bunch of our family and close friends. It was so much fun and much more lowkey than birthday #1! I guess Audrey & her friend talked about her puppy party for days at daycare! I posted some of the recipes from her party on the recipe section of this blog if you are interested in such things as peanut butter balls, birthday cake fudge, cake batter bark, etc. I also made homemade dark chocolate cupcakes w/ buttercream icing and yellow cupcakes (those were from a box due to time constraints) w/ homemade strawberry cream cheese icing. I was so proud of those!

This past weekend was a 50th Anniversary Gala for the NRO. It was a pretty fun night for Brian and me and we were able to get dressed up and go out without Audrey! The NRO declassified a previously classified satellite, so it was sort of interesting to be able to see that before anyone else. AndΒ  LeeAnn Womack sang the National Anthem! I stupidly wore heels, though, and there was no formal seating…that was the straw that broke the camel’s back in terms of heels this pregnancy. I made it to 35 weeks still wearing them but I’m going to try to avoid them from now on.

This weekend will be a trip to Charlottesville for a UVA game and some apple picking! I’m really looking forward to it, but I know that it means I’m not going to be productive AT ALL when it comes to getting ready for Caroline. The weekend after that is pretty busy, too! Brian is going to a Sabres/Caps pre-season game on Friday, I’m going to Les Mis at the Kennedy Center on Saturday & then I have my baby shower on Sunday! After that weekend, we are no longer making any plans because who knows when Caroline will make her debut…

Here are some pictures from my beautiful girl’s birthday party and from the NRO 50th Anniversary Gala (and week 35 of pregnancy):

2 Comments

Filed under baby, Celebrations

2 responses to “Updates/Playing Catch-up

  1. Congrats on everything going on! And you look gorgeous, naturally!

  2. What beautiful cupcakes and an even more beautiful daughter! I’m impressed you wore heels even if it didn’t work out. I think I threw the heels out the window on my second pregnancy. My babes are 17 and 13 now…time flies. And yes, you are never more busy or more tired than right now when they are little AND you are pregnant. It will get easier. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

