Sneaky chef week 1 & a 5k!

Week 1 of using the Sneaky Chef has been a huge success! I already talked about the Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup, but since then we have tried chicken parm & taco soup. The chicken parm included pureed broccoli, peas & spinach (when I was doing it, Brian said, “it smells like death in here!”) but in the end, Brian ended up eating more of it than the rest of us (and that’s partly bc he takes leftovers to work for dinner on the night shift.) Today I made taco soup which includes shredded chicken, salsa, tomato paste and 2 purees: the white bean puree (same one we used in the chicken noodle soup) and an orange puree (which includes sweet potatoes and carrots.) All in all, I am really happy with the book so far, but it involves a LOT of preparation and I’m the only one who will do it because obviously I’m the one trying to sneak the veggies in. We’re taking a week off from Sneaky Chef this week & just going with some recipes from Cooking Light.

Also, I had a big accomplishment yesterday! I participated in my first 5K and ran the entire thing in about 30 minutes. I am not a runner. I don’t really enjoy it at all. I walk 3-4 miles a day, but I can never really get behind running. I was a little skeptical of how well I’d do, but I was so happy & proud of myself. I am SUPER competitive, so of course I didn’t want to be the person who walked part of it! Ha ha 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Fitness, George Mason University, Race, Races, Racing, Recipes, Run, Running

Leave a Reply

