For Colored Girls

I watched this movie yesterday and have to write something about it because I’m still thinking about everything I saw. I really liked it, though it’s definitely not a feel-good movie at all. It’s very intense, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking movie. It’s about 5 or 6 colored women and their relationships with the men (or people) who are supposed to love them. Issues covered ranged the gamut from abortion to an alcoholic/abusive husband, rape, infertility, HIV…basically, issues that can face all women. There were some very powerful scenes in the movie that will stick with me for a very long time. One of the most powerful scenes for me was the rape of the dance teacher which was running concurrently with an opera. The way it was filmed was so moving. The dance teacher later had a monologue at the hospital basically saying that we women are always taught to fear the stranger that never comes but never the friend that we easily let into our lives. Another monologue that I really liked was the nurse’s monologue about men “taking” things from yourself and giving too much of yourself away to them. There are a few other really powerful scenes, but I don’t want to give away anything in the movie!

I knew it wasn’t going to be an uplifting movie when I put it on our Netflix queue but I didn’t realize it would be this sad. Brian always asks why I watch movies like this, but I really like movies with meaning and sometimes those movies are uplifting and sometimes they’re not. Plus, I’m in a Women & Gender Studies Master’s program! Of course this is the sort of movie that interests me!

Anyway, it is definitely NOT a typical Tyler Perry movie. There were actually times throughout that I didn’t even remember he was the director! If you’re looking for a darker movie, I definitely recommend it and I even think I’ll probably end up buying it.

Leave a comment

Filed under For Colored Girls

Leave a Reply

