Life was changed, diassembled, rearranged

More and more lately I have had these moments where the breath is sucked out of me and I truly realize how fluid and ever-changing life is. Usually these times come all at once and knock me off my feet. I had one of those weekends this past weekend.

A very dear family friend passed away on Thursday night. This man was the epitome of a selfless, caring, kind person. He and his wife were adopted grandparents to me. I cannot remember a big life event without them there; in fact, I spent the night before my wedding at their house and my bridesmaids & I got ready there before the ceremony. They have been such role models for both Brian & me and through their example, have inspired us on how we want to live our lives, treat each other and raise our children. They just celebrated their 50 year wedding anniversary in January, and they have one of the most loving families I have ever seen. Brian and I will be lucky to even be half of the people they are. I do take some peace in the fact that since we have moved back east, we’ve gotten to spend more time with them. I am so happy he was able to meet Audrey and get to know her a little bit. To say that he will be missed is a huge understatement; I know our trips to Buffalo will never be the same anymore and will always carry a little bit of an ache because we won’t get to see him there.

On a happier side of life, we were blessed to attend a beautiful wedding for a beautiful couple this weekend. This was the first wedding we’ve been to where neither of us has been in the wedding. It was nice to be able to experience the whole thing together and I felt like it really allowed us to reflect on our own marriage as well.

It was very much a yin & yang sort of weekend: happiness and celebration coupled with sadness and mourning. The fact that life is full of changes, ebbs & flows and that it is so cyclical really hit home for me . In the midst of this weekend, Alan Jackson’s “Remember When” came on my iPod shuffle. No words say it better than the lyrics of that song, including this line which was what really stuck out to me when I listened this weekend:
Remember when old ones died and new were born? Life was changed, disassembled, rearranged.”

Leave a comment

Filed under baby, Family, Home

Leave a Reply

