From our kitchen to yours…

Because of so many requests for this recipe, I am sharing it on the blog. These are my from my Grandma McGinley’s kitchen; they are my favorite cookies to eat, but one of my least favorite to make. They aren’t hard, just sort of time-intensive (ie: you can’t make them all in one swoop bc there is cooling involved, etc) and it has taken me a full 3 years to get a good technique down! Cutting them is not the easiest thing in the world, but now that I’ve recruited Brian for the task, making these is much more tolerable! πŸ˜‰

CHOCHOLATE SLICES

BOTTOM LAYER:
Melt the following in a double boiler:
1/2 C butter
1/4 C sugar
1 tsp vanilla
5 tbsp cocoa

Mix melted ingredients with an egg and 3 C crushed graham crackers* and pack into a 9×13 in pan and an 8×8 pan.

MIDDLE LAYER:
Cream together:
1/2 C butter
6 tbsp milk
4 tbsp instant vanilla pudding mix

Mix 4 C of confectionary sugar with other ingredients as you are creaming them.
Spread over bottom layer & refrigerate until hardened.

TOP LAYER:
Melt a 16 oz package of chocolate chips. Spread over the top and let cool.

*The original recipe calls for a bottom layer of 2 C crushed graham crackers, 1 C cocunut and 1/2 C nuts. Because Brian and I are not coconut or nut fans, I just substitute an extra cup of the graham cracker crumbs.

Here are some pictures…

from the side of an uncut batch:

they get crumbly bc of the crumbs, but oh-so-yummy:

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “From our kitchen to yours…

  1. I knew you guys were cool…I can't stand nuts or coconut either! πŸ˜‰ I will have to try this recipe sometimes, thanks for sharing, family recipes are the best!

  2. This post definitely needs a pic or 2. It sounds delicious but my brain needs visual clarification.

Leave a Reply

