A lot to be thankful for.

Because we’re now in the middle of the holiday season, it’s probably time to do the obligatory thankful post. When I think back on this past year, the list of things to be thankful for is truly overwhelming and I will never be able to touch on every single blessing from the last year. AUDREY is obviously at the top of our list, though. Watching her grow & learn over this past year has been the most amazing thing in the world. It’s been the most challenging and exhausting year of my life, but also the most rewarding by far. I AM SO THANKFUL WE SURVIVED OUR FIRST YEAR OF PARENTHOOD AND THAT ALL THREE OF US ARE ALIVE TO TELL ABOUT IT!

I am thankful that our Air Force assignment worked out so well for us. DC is a dream assignment for both of us. The location is obviously fantastic, and the job itself is something that Brian wants to do as an actual career (yes, I know it’s hard to believe that sitting 60ft underground with your finger on the button of a missile isn’t his actual career goal…;)). The proximity to family & friends is a welcome change after being so isolated in Montana. I’m also thankful that I have not seen one flake of snow in DC as of yet!

I am thankful for all of the friends and pseudo-family we met in Montana. There is not a day that goes by where I don’t think of most of them and miss them immensely. I think I’m having a hard time feeling at home in any church here simply because we loved our Montana church family so much, and no one has been able to compare to them yet. All of our loved ones from MT have shared in ALL of Brian’s and my big life & relationship changes, and that is a special bond that I will never forget!

I’m also thankful for the general good health of our families (despite a scare or two in the last year), good shopping (finally!), the beautiful landscapes of Virginia, an upcoming royal wedding to celebrate with a princess slumber party, wineries & cupcakeries.

Leave a comment

Filed under Celebrations, Family, Holidays, Military Life

Leave a Reply

