Thoughts?

Warning: if you are going to get angry that I am spouting my feelings on the superiority of natural birth, stop reading!

I have not always been a proponent of natural birth…not that I haven’t supported it, it’s just that prior to being pregnant with Audrey, I hadn’t given it much thought. Even after becoming pregnant with her, I wasn’t sure how our birth would go, and where I stood on it. A few months in, I started doing a lot of research into the birthing process, its effects on mom & baby and hospital policies. I also heard the word “doula” for the first time, and I thought it was an interesting concept, but never in one million years did I ever think we would have one (thanks, Carmen!). However, the more and more I read about inductions and c-sections and births with tons of medical intervention, the more I realized that all of that was not for me.

I thought I was pretty adamant and passionate about that stance before/immediately after Audrey’s birth (hence the reason I was inconsolable when I found out we had to be induced), but even now, the more and more I read about the correlations between unnecessary medical interventions and c-section rates, the more astounded I am that people will still unnecessarily opt for those interventions. I used to be pretty “laissez-faire” about how everyone else chooses to birth their children, but in the face of all of this research, it’s getting harder and harder to do that. The unnecessarily high c-section rate is really scary to me. This is so superficial, but one of the “straw that breaks the camel’s back” reasons that I didn’t want a c-section (aside from the obvious) was that I did not want to have 7 layers of my skin and muscle cut through. THAT IS GROSS, and I could not imagine voluntarily signing on for that.

Previously, I had considered myself “lucky” that despite being induced, I was able to have an epi-free birth…lately, however, I am beginning to give myself more credit for it rather than chalking it up to sheer luck. I worked my butt off to make sure that happened from doing tons of research to choosing the right doctor and doula, to walking 4 miles a day during pregnancy so that my body would have the stamina needed for the marathon of labor & delivery. Had I not walked as much as I did, I don’t think my body would have been able to handle 28 hours of labor on 4 hours of sleep. I’m not saying that because I did all of this stuff, I was bound to have the birth I wanted…that’s not the case at all because I know there are other factors that can contribute to a c-section, etc, BUT I gave myself and Audrey the best possible chance for the labor and delivery I wanted by doing these things for myself and her.

Anyway, you may be wondering what spurred this post. I have read three articles in the last month or so talking about the unquestionable fact that inductions/c-sections are usually not in the best interest of mom & baby (to which I sometimes find myself wanting to reply “No S$%*” because this is not really new research. Without further ado, here they are:

Who Controls Childbirth–expectant moms or doctors?
Too Many C-Sections: Docs Rethink Induced Labor
Study: The Health Risks of Late Preterm Births

As a disclaimer, obviously I realize there are certain situations that call for inductions and c-sections. I was obviously one of the ones that called for an induction. My issue is with the unnecessary inductions and c-sections that are being done and even advocated/encouraged by doctors.

Leave a comment

Filed under doula, natural childbirth

Leave a Reply

