Catching up

Whenever I don’t blog for a while (and I think two weeks is a while), I tend to get overwhelmed with how much has happened that I need to update about. I’m sure there are things that I’m going to end up inadvertently leaving out, but I’ll give you the cliffs notes version of what’s been going on with us for the last few weeks.

My last day of work was Friday, February 26. I was sort of sad to leave most of the people, but definitely not sad to leave the place/politics. All of that bureaucracy stuff just doesn’t seem to matter as much anymore now that Audrey is around, and it will be nice to be free from it for a little while. I was much sadder to take Audrey out of daycare than I was to quit my job because she loved it so much and her daycare ladies seemed to grow pretty attached to her. They even shed a few tears when they said goodbye to her!

My first week at home with Audrey was so much fun! I think she enjoyed it, too. We had lots of outings, and took tons of walks. I LOVE walking, and Audrey loves looking around. Luckily for us, the weather has been really nice (upper 40s and 50s), so we’ve taken advantage of it every day.

I have a lot of goals that I want to accomplish in my time at home with Audrey before we move. They are (in no particular order):

1. to get her back on the nursing track! She had been almost exclusively fed pumped milk (thank God for our freezer stash and pump!) since her bout with RSV because she just couldn’t breathe when she nursed, and up until this week, would scream when I tried to get her to nurse. This past week was dedicated to getting her back in the habit, and she has DEFINITELY made improvements. I didn’t realize how much I liked nursing her until I didn’t have the option anymore!

2. GET HER INTO A NAPPING ROUTINE. Oh my gosh. She is the world’s WORST napper. There was only so much we (and her daycare ladies for that matter) could do about it while she was in daycare. She would be put down for naps, but would just watch the other babies through the crib because she is a nosy little girl. Now she will simply refuse a nap. The only time she will consistently take a nap is if she is taking a nap on someone. Every once in a while we’ll get lucky and she’ll nap for a long time in her crib, but usually if she’s laid down in it, she’ll wake up within half an hour. I just bought The No Cry Nap Solution today and hope that will help! I’ve read The No Cry Sleep Solution and it has seemed to help her night-time sleeping.

3. PACK for our impending move! We just got word this week that Brian’s report date to Virginia is no later than June 30, but his Malmstrom Colonel has said that he’ll release him from this base on May 1. HOORAY! It’s about a month later than we were told, but there was a personnel hold-up in Virginia. A good thing about our impending orders is that since Brian’s new job is relatively classified, he is not assigned to any specific base in Virginia/Maryland/DC. Instead, he’s been assigned simply to “Washington, DC.” This means we have our choice as to which base to try to live on and which CDC to get Audrey into.

I’ve never been one of those people who thought that being a stay-at-home-mom was easier than being a working mom (it’s just a different sort of hard), but if I was one of those people, I know I would be having some big realizations in the weeks to come! Even though staying at home with her is so much fun, it’s very hard to get anything done, and it will definitely be challenging to pack up our house for our BIG MOVE!

In some fun Audrey updates, she has discovered her feet and loves to chomp on them. Her hair is growing fast, and it seems like she might be a blondie for a little while. She’s so close to sitting up on her own AND she had oatmeal for the first time this week. She was pretty confused the first day we gave it to her and then was pretty pissed the second day. By the third day and today (the fourth day) she was absolutely in love with it and keeps grabbing my hand to shove the spoon into her mouth!

Leave a comment

Filed under baby, Military Life, Updates

Leave a Reply

