the New Year

I always get a little sentimental when it comes time to throw away the old calendar from the previous year and replace it with a new one. This was especially true this year because our 2009 calendar was full of so many wonderful events. Our old calendar held all of the “logistical” aspects of Audrey: doctor appointments, doula appointments and other reminders, so as I was throwing it away, I couldn’t help but flash back to everything the past year held for us. We have taken to calling 2009 the “Year of Audrey” because we found out in the beginning of the year (January) that we were pregnant with her, so the following 11 months were devoted entirely to anxiously preparing for and awaiting her arrival and then welcoming her with lots of love, cuddles and kisses.

Even though 2009 was a year full of surprises and blessings for us (and so many of our friends as well), 2010 looks just as promising! As we were driving to the airport from our trip back to Buffalo, Audrey’s Grandma B and I sat in the backseat with her and started telling her about all of the fun things that await us this year: moving to Virginia, Audrey’s first birthday, Uncle Mark’s graduation from UB and Caitlin & Michael’s wedding (just to name a few). In addition to all of that, simply watching Audrey grow already makes this year amazing, and we are only 9 days into it. I can’t wait to see what I’m going to get nostalgic over next year when it comes time to replace the 2010 calendar!

I recently came across a song that is a reminder of Audrey and the impact she’s had on our lives. I feel like this song is becoming more popular lately (if you youtube it, something about the Twilight movies comes up, so maybe it’s in New Moon? I wouldn’t really know.) It’s called “Amazing” and it’s by Janelle.

Here are the lyrics:

The morning cold and raining
Dark before the dawn could come
How long in twilight waiting
Longing for the rising sun
Oh, Oh
You came like crashing thunder
Breaking through these walls of stone
You came with wide eyed wonder
Into all this great unknown
Hush now don’t you be afraid
I promise you I’ll always stay
I’ll never be that far away
I’m right here with you

You’re so amazing
You shine like the stars
You’re so amazing
The beauty you are
You came blazing
Right into my heart
You’re so amazing
You are, You are

You came from Heaven shining
Breath of God still fresh on you
The beating heart inside me
Crumbled at this one so new
Oh, Oh
No matter where, how far you wander
For a thousand years or longer
I will always be there for you
Right here with you
I hope your tears are few and fast
I hope your dreams come true at last
I hope you find love that goes on and on and on and on and on
I hope you wish on every star
I hope you never fall too far
I hope this world can see how wonderful you are

1 Comment

Filed under Celebrations, Reminiscing

One response to “the New Year

  1. Its great that you found a song for her! Each time I was pregnant a new song would come out that I associate with my babies. Haley's is "I loved her first" and Kale's is Rascal Flat's "My Wish" both, whether they like it or not will dance to with Jeff or I at their wedding one day.

Leave a Reply

