Autumn nostalgia

Fall is my favorite time of year, but it’s hard for me in Montana. Nothing beats fall on the east coast (especially in Virginia) with all of the reds, oranges & golds everywhere. I miss being able to go apple picking or pumpkin picking and I miss college football season. In fact, I’m sure I wrote a post about this in October of last year! It seems like fall in Montana lasts about a week and then turns right into winter with no warning. The leaves on the trees only turn yellow which doesn’t really matter because the crazy wind ends up blowing all the leaves off the trees by mid-October, anyway. Two weeks ago, it was 90 degrees here; this week, we’re supposed to have highs of 20s and 30s. WHAT?! Where is our slow transition into winter? I guess I have to just keep telling myself that this is our last fall here, and it will be our last winter here, too. Like I’ve said multiple times before, we are majorly counting down until our next base…as you can see, though, Audrey is already bundled up in her winter gear!

We are starting to get into more of a pattern with Audrey. Well, either that, or we’re just getting used to not being able to have a set sleep/activity schedule and so that’s the reason life seems more bearable. I’m not really sure which is the case. Brian and I were talking this week about how we’re at the point where Audrey actually feels like part of the family now and not just a visitor like she had for the first few days. We are looking forward to the grandparents’ visits starting next week…maybe Brian and I will get some sleep/time alone!

Now that things have calmed down, Brian and I are both set on getting (back) into shape. I am back to walking 4.5 miles on the treadmill, and we’ve taken up Jillian Michaels’ 30-Day Shred. For those of you who don’t know, Jillian Michaels is one of the trainers on The Biggest Loser. She is scary and evil, and her workout plans are hard as hell. For me, personally, the cardio and ab segments are not the hard parts (I like cardio), but I cannot stand the strength exercises. I don’t need to do weights because now that I am constantly holding/lifting/transporting Audrey, I’ll automatically get Michelle Obama arms, right?!

Leave a comment

Filed under apple picking, autumn, Jillian Michaels

Leave a Reply

