8(ish) weeks to go!

It has been a whirlwind few weeks for Brian & me…though it seems like every week is pretty busy these days. We have been doing a lot to prepare for Audrey’s arrival in a few short weeks. Her nursery is pretty much finished. We’ve finally chosen our doula and we both feel really comfortable with her. She is really laid back and easy to talk to, and we ended up just randomly talking with her for a long time during our first meeting. I think she’s going to be really helpful to both Brian and me, and I think the combination of her support and Brian’s support is going to make labor a lot more bearable.

We also had our all-day childbirth prep class. It was a little bit intimidating for a few reasons. One reason is that I think we both finally realized how close we are to Audrey’s arrival. Another reason (for me, anyway), was that it really showed me how long (and challenging!) of a process labor is going to be. Obviously I knew it wasn’t going to be easy, but hearing the facts said out loud is pretty sobering. At the same time, though, I left the class feeling a little bit empowered. I know it’s going to be hard, but I can do this, and I will probably have the best support team that anyone could ask for in the room with me. I told Brian that I feel like I’m training for a marathon now! Every time I don’t feel like getting on the treadmill, I just think about it that way and it really helps the motivation.
During our class, we got to take a tour of the Labor & Delivery ward at the hospital. That really calmed our nerves a lot as well. The nurses seem awesome, and we’ve both only heard great things about them from pretty much everyone who has delivered there. What’s a little bit unnerving, though, is that we don’t really have a guarantee that Audrey will be delivered in the place that we toured. Benefis (the hospital) is in the process of building a brand new Labor/Delivery floor which is set to open on the 1st of October. This means that if Audrey is early or on-time, we’ll be in the old ward, and if she is late, we could potentially be in the new wing.
We also had our 2nd appointment with our new doctor this past week which left us (once again) feeling much more reassured. We found out that Audrey is head-down already…now she just has to stay that way! We also found out that we get another ultrasound (which we didn’t expect to get) in a few weeks to check her growth and position and the fluid levels. We expressed our concerns to the doctor about not having her on-call when we go into labor, so she is putting us on her “special case” list which means that if she isn’t on-call when we go to the hospital, she’ll be the first doctor called and if she can come in for the delivery, she will be there. That is a huge burden off our backs, especially after having to get to know a new a second new doctor in this pregnancy. Audrey is measuring a little bit small, but still on the normal track. AND I only gained 2/10ths of a pound since the last appointment which was a piece of information I definitely needed for my own sanity this visit. I have been packing on the pounds a lot faster than I thought I would, and so to hear that I tapered off (at least for this time period) was a welcome change.
Audrey also had her second surprise shower within the last few weeks. All of our Montana military girlfriends threw a surprise shower for me last weekend and it was so much fun. Audrey got a lot of new stuff and Brian even got some presents! We are so blessed with such great friends!


Leave a comment

Filed under baby, birth, natural childbirth

Leave a Reply

